Toptal
Hourly or weekly freelance AI specialists with a no-risk start
What is Toptal?
Toptal has run its remote freelance network since 2010, and its buying model is the most flexible on the hours side. You can book a machine learning, NLP or generative AI specialist for a few hours a week or full-time, billed hourly or weekly, and each new engagement starts with a no-risk trial. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants pass a screen that ends with interviews by senior engineers and a test project. What you give up is a stable employee: freelancers choose their clients, and Toptal publishes no rate card.
Toptal works primarily with clients in Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail sectors. Its primary differentiator is: Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial.
Toptal tech stack and services
| Service area |
|---|
| ML Engineers |
| LLM Engineers |
| NLP |
| Fractional Experts |
| Trial Period |
| Talent Marketplace |
Toptal pricing
Short answer: Toptal uses a hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request pricing approach. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed; a discovery call is required.
| Engagement model | Typical range | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Part-time fractional | Variable; depends on team size | Large programmes or team augmentation |
| Freelance contract | Variable; depends on team size | Large programmes or team augmentation |
| Trial period | Variable; depends on team size | Large programmes or team augmentation |
Toptal pros and cons
| Advantages | Things to consider |
|---|---|
| +Part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception | -Premium pricing and no public rate card |
| +Trial at the start of each engagement | -Freelancers can leave for another client |
| +Published screening with engineer-run interviews | -Less suited to building a stable team of several engineers |
Toptal vs alternatives
How Toptal compares to the other top AI Staff Augmentation providers.
| Company | Best for | Key difference | Rating | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tensorway | Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every... | Full-time, part-time and two-week trial options from the same AI-only provider | 4.8 | Full comparison |
| Index.dev | Startups that want their money back if the... | A refundable 30-day trial on every placement, plus direct hire | 4.5 | Full comparison |
| deepsense.ai | Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers. | Monthly access to about 120 employed AI specialists with production experience | 4.4 | Full comparison |
| Uvik Software | Knowing the rate band before the first sales... | A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice | 4.3 | Full comparison |
| Azumo | U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate... | A $25–$49 Clutch band with engineers working U.S. hours | 4.3 | Full comparison |
| Quantiphi | Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product... | Elastic Staffing, a packaged staffing program built with AWS | 4.2 | Full comparison |
| Vstorm | Agent engineering bought at a known rate and... | Published rate and minimum for specialist agent engineers | 4.2 | Full comparison |
| Go Fractional | Startups that need a senior AI engineer for... | A marketplace built only around part-time professionals | 4.1 | Full comparison |
| Globant | Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as... | Token-metered AI Pods subscription alongside conventional staffing | 4.1 | Full comparison |
| Neurons Lab | Financial firms that want flexible, short engagements with... | Network model that makes short and part-time engagements easy | 4.1 | Full comparison |
| Pento | U.S. teams that want a nearshore ML engineer... | Published mid-range rate with close U.S. Eastern overlap | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| InData Labs | A small dedicated computer vision or NLP team... | Dedicated AI teams with ten years of computer vision and NLP work | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| Revelo | U.S. companies that want a Latin American AI... | No upfront fees, no long-term contract and published salary benchmarks | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| Turing | Several remote AI engineers matched quickly. | Automated matching across a very large developer pool | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| Tribe AI | Senior ML practitioners bought by the project. | Project and part-time access to senior practitioners | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| Andela | Companies buying long-term remote engineers at lower cost,... | Monthly marketplace or managed-team buying with assessments from its Woven acquisition | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| Folio3 | MLOps or vision work with a two-week trial... | Start within 48 hours plus a two-week trial | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| BairesDev | U.S. buyers who want AI and software engineers... | One contract for mixed AI and software teams in U.S. time zones | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| Algoscale | Cost-focused buyers who need Python data and AI... | Onboarding within 48 hours at offshore rates | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| N-iX | Enterprises that want to move between augmentation and... | Three clearly separated engagement models with a large bench | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| Svitla Systems | Coverage in both Americas and European hours under... | Two delivery regions under one staffing contract | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| Data Science UA | Companies that want to choose between a recruiting... | Recruiting fee or monthly outstaffing from an AI-only recruiter | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| SciForce | Healthcare data teams buying a monthly NLP or... | Medical data science with a multi-year staffing reference | 3.7 | Full comparison |
| Brainpool AI | Academic ML depth for one defined project. | Project access to experts from leading UK universities | 3.7 | Full comparison |
| micro1 | Many contract contributors, with a short test before... | High-volume AI interviews and a one-week test | 3.7 | Full comparison |
| KORE1 | U.S. companies that want to convert a contract... | Contract-to-hire terms for AI roles in the U.S. | 3.6 | Full comparison |
| Mercor | AI labs buying short-term expert work in volume. | Volume contractor hiring with a percentage platform fee | 3.6 | Full comparison |
Toptal FAQ
What is Toptal?
Hourly or weekly freelance AI specialists with a no-risk start
How much does Toptal charge?
Toptal uses hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request pricing. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. A discovery call is required to get project-specific quotes.
What tech stack does Toptal use?
Toptal works with Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, Hugging Face, OpenAI, LangChain, AWS, Azure. Primary industries served include Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail.
Is Toptal right for enterprise?
A few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer. Large freelance network team size. Key consideration: Premium pricing and no public rate card.
What are the best Toptal alternatives?
The best alternatives to Toptal depend on your use case. Top options are:
- Tensorway: full-time, part-time and two-week trial options from the same ai-only provider
- Index.dev: a refundable 30-day trial on every placement, plus direct hire
- deepsense.ai: monthly access to about 120 employed ai specialists with production experience
Compare Toptal with other AI Staff Augmentation providers
Verify all details directly with Toptal before making a decision.