Neurons Lab
A London core team that draws on a 500-engineer network
What is Neurons Lab?
Neurons Lab was founded in London in 2019 and keeps a small core staff while drawing on a distributed network of more than 500 engineers, according to its site. That arrangement makes it easy to buy a specialist for a short stretch or part of each week, which an employer-only model makes harder. Its clients include banks and insurers, and it holds an AWS generative AI competency. Continuity is the trade-off, because network members are not employees.
Neurons Lab works primarily with clients in Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare, Cleantech, Retail sectors. Its primary differentiator is: Network model that makes short and part-time engagements easy.
Neurons Lab tech stack and services
| Service area |
|---|
| LLM Engineers |
| AI Agent Developers |
| Fractional Experts |
| Dedicated Teams |
Neurons Lab pricing
Short answer: Neurons Lab uses a monthly per engineer or project fee; rates on request pricing approach. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed; a discovery call is required.
| Engagement model | Typical range | Best for |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time dedicated | Variable; depends on team size | Large programmes or team augmentation |
| Part-time fractional | Variable; depends on team size | Large programmes or team augmentation |
| Project delivery | Variable; depends on team size | Large programmes or team augmentation |
Neurons Lab pros and cons
| Advantages | Things to consider |
|---|---|
| +Part-time and short engagements are easy to arrange | -Network members are not employees |
| +Banking and insurance references | -No published rates |
| +AWS generative AI competency | -Headcount estimates vary |
Neurons Lab vs alternatives
How Neurons Lab compares to the other top AI Staff Augmentation providers.
| Company | Best for | Key difference | Rating | Compare |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Tensorway | Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every... | Full-time, part-time and two-week trial options from the same AI-only provider | 4.8 | Full comparison |
| Index.dev | Startups that want their money back if the... | A refundable 30-day trial on every placement, plus direct hire | 4.5 | Full comparison |
| Toptal | A few hours a week of senior AI... | Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial | 4.4 | Full comparison |
| deepsense.ai | Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers. | Monthly access to about 120 employed AI specialists with production experience | 4.4 | Full comparison |
| Uvik Software | Knowing the rate band before the first sales... | A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice | 4.3 | Full comparison |
| Azumo | U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate... | A $25–$49 Clutch band with engineers working U.S. hours | 4.3 | Full comparison |
| Quantiphi | Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product... | Elastic Staffing, a packaged staffing program built with AWS | 4.2 | Full comparison |
| Vstorm | Agent engineering bought at a known rate and... | Published rate and minimum for specialist agent engineers | 4.2 | Full comparison |
| Go Fractional | Startups that need a senior AI engineer for... | A marketplace built only around part-time professionals | 4.1 | Full comparison |
| Globant | Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as... | Token-metered AI Pods subscription alongside conventional staffing | 4.1 | Full comparison |
| Pento | U.S. teams that want a nearshore ML engineer... | Published mid-range rate with close U.S. Eastern overlap | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| InData Labs | A small dedicated computer vision or NLP team... | Dedicated AI teams with ten years of computer vision and NLP work | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| Revelo | U.S. companies that want a Latin American AI... | No upfront fees, no long-term contract and published salary benchmarks | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| Turing | Several remote AI engineers matched quickly. | Automated matching across a very large developer pool | 4.0 | Full comparison |
| Tribe AI | Senior ML practitioners bought by the project. | Project and part-time access to senior practitioners | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| Andela | Companies buying long-term remote engineers at lower cost,... | Monthly marketplace or managed-team buying with assessments from its Woven acquisition | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| Folio3 | MLOps or vision work with a two-week trial... | Start within 48 hours plus a two-week trial | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| BairesDev | U.S. buyers who want AI and software engineers... | One contract for mixed AI and software teams in U.S. time zones | 3.9 | Full comparison |
| Algoscale | Cost-focused buyers who need Python data and AI... | Onboarding within 48 hours at offshore rates | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| N-iX | Enterprises that want to move between augmentation and... | Three clearly separated engagement models with a large bench | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| Svitla Systems | Coverage in both Americas and European hours under... | Two delivery regions under one staffing contract | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| Data Science UA | Companies that want to choose between a recruiting... | Recruiting fee or monthly outstaffing from an AI-only recruiter | 3.8 | Full comparison |
| SciForce | Healthcare data teams buying a monthly NLP or... | Medical data science with a multi-year staffing reference | 3.7 | Full comparison |
| Brainpool AI | Academic ML depth for one defined project. | Project access to experts from leading UK universities | 3.7 | Full comparison |
| micro1 | Many contract contributors, with a short test before... | High-volume AI interviews and a one-week test | 3.7 | Full comparison |
| KORE1 | U.S. companies that want to convert a contract... | Contract-to-hire terms for AI roles in the U.S. | 3.6 | Full comparison |
| Mercor | AI labs buying short-term expert work in volume. | Volume contractor hiring with a percentage platform fee | 3.6 | Full comparison |
Neurons Lab FAQ
What is Neurons Lab?
A London core team that draws on a 500-engineer network
How much does Neurons Lab charge?
Neurons Lab uses monthly per engineer or project fee; rates on request pricing. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. A discovery call is required to get project-specific quotes.
What tech stack does Neurons Lab use?
Neurons Lab works with Python, LangChain, OpenAI, Amazon Bedrock, AWS, PyTorch. Primary industries served include Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare, Cleantech, Retail.
Is Neurons Lab right for enterprise?
Financial firms that want flexible, short engagements with LLM specialists. 50–200 staff; 500+ network team size. Key consideration: Network members are not employees.
What are the best Neurons Lab alternatives?
The best alternatives to Neurons Lab depend on your use case. Top options are:
- Tensorway: full-time, part-time and two-week trial options from the same ai-only provider
- Index.dev: a refundable 30-day trial on every placement, plus direct hire
- Toptal: hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial
Compare Neurons Lab with other AI Staff Augmentation providers
Verify all details directly with Neurons Lab before making a decision.