Toptal vs InData Labs: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Toptal (4.4/5) edges ahead of InData Labs (4.0/5) overall. Toptal is the better choice for a few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer. InData Labs is the stronger option for a small dedicated computer vision or NLP team rather than one person. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Toptal vs InData Labs: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Toptal | InData Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2010 | 2014 |
| HQ | Remote-first (no central office) | Nicosia, Cyprus |
| Team size | Large freelance network | 50–100 |
| Rating | 4.4 / 5 | 4.0 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial | Dedicated AI teams with ten years of computer vision and NLP work |
| Pricing model | Hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request | Dedicated team billed monthly; projects from under $50,000 to over $100,000 (Clutch); rates on request |
| Min. engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Primary tech stack | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow | Python, PyTorch, OpenCV |
| Industries served | Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail | Retail, Healthcare, Fintech, Media, Manufacturing |
Toptal vs InData Labs: overview
Toptal
Toptal has run its remote freelance network since 2010, and its buying model is the most flexible on the hours side. You can book a machine learning, NLP or generative AI specialist for a few hours a week or full-time, billed hourly or weekly, and each new engagement starts with a no-risk trial. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants pass a screen that ends with interviews by senior engineers and a test project. What you give up is a stable employee: freelancers choose their clients, and Toptal publishes no rate card.
InData Labs
InData Labs started in 2014 and is registered in Nicosia, Cyprus, with an office in Singapore and roughly 70 to 80 people. Clutch lists dedicated teams and staff augmentation as core services, and reported project sizes run from under $50,000 to over $100,000. Buyers get a team built around computer vision, NLP or generative AI rather than individual freelancers. It is an AWS partner. Monthly rates, minimums and trial terms are not published.
Services and capabilities: Toptal vs InData Labs
| Capability | Toptal | InData Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time dedicated engineers | ✗ | ✗ |
| Part-time / fractional experts | ✓ | ✗ |
| Dedicated team | ✗ | ✓ |
| Trial before commitment | ✓ | ✗ |
| Published rates | ✗ | ✗ |
| Direct hire option | ✗ | ✗ |
| Subscription or output-based pricing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Nearshore time-zone overlap | ✗ | ✗ |
| LLM / GenAI engineers | ✓ | ✓ |
| MLOps | ✗ | ✗ |
| Computer vision | ✗ | ✓ |
| Data engineering | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Toptal vs InData Labs
| Framework / platform | Toptal | InData Labs |
|---|---|---|
| PyTorch | ✓ | ✓ |
| TensorFlow | ✓ | N/A |
| LangChain | ✓ | N/A |
| Hugging Face | ✓ | ✓ |
| OpenAI | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | N/A |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | N/A | N/A |
| Kubernetes | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Toptal vs InData Labs
| Criterion | Toptal | InData Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Engagement models | Part-time fractional, Freelance contract, Trial period | Dedicated team, Project delivery |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Not public |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Toptal vs InData Labs
| Dimension | Toptal | InData Labs |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Technology, Finance, Healthcare | Retail, Healthcare, Fintech |
| Best use cases | Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week, Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer | Buying a three-person computer vision team for a retail app, Adding an NLP team for document processing |
| Typical project type | Part-time fractional | Dedicated team |
Toptal vs InData Labs: pros and cons
| Toptal | |
|---|---|
| + | Part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception |
| + | Trial at the start of each engagement |
| + | Published screening with engineer-run interviews |
| - | Premium pricing and no public rate card |
| - | Freelancers can leave for another client |
| - | Less suited to building a stable team of several engineers |
| InData Labs | |
|---|---|
| + | AI-only company with long computer vision and NLP experience |
| + | Clutch shows typical project sizes |
| + | AWS partner |
| - | No single-engineer or part-time option published |
| - | Small team |
| - | Headquarters listed differently across sources |
Who should choose Toptal?
A typical fit: booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week.
Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail.
Who should choose InData Labs?
A typical fit: buying a three-person computer vision team for a retail app.
Dedicated AI teams with ten years of computer vision and NLP work. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Retail, Healthcare, Fintech, Media, Manufacturing.
Decision matrix: Toptal vs InData Labs
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want one engineer full-time on a monthly contract | Neither lists full-time placements; ask about minimum hours |
| You only need a specialist a few days a week | Toptal |
| You want to test an engineer before committing | Toptal |
| You need a rate before the first call | Neither publishes rates; ask both for a written rate card |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Toptal (Not published) vs InData Labs (Not published) |
| You may want to hire the engineer permanently later | Neither lists direct hire; agree conversion terms up front |
| You want several engineers working as one team | InData Labs |
Use case fit: Toptal vs InData Labs
| Use case | Toptal fit | InData Labs fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week | Strong | Limited | Toptal |
| Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer | Strong | Limited | Toptal |
| Buying a three-person computer vision team for a retail app | Limited | Strong | InData Labs |
| Adding an NLP team for document processing | Limited | Strong | InData Labs |
Verdict: Toptal vs InData Labs
Toptal (4.4/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Staff Augmentation projects. Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial.
InData Labs (4.0/5) is worth a look if you need adding an NLP team for document processing. If your situation matches that, InData Labs is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Toptal vs InData Labs FAQ
Is Toptal better than InData Labs?
Toptal (4.4/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Toptal's strongest advantage: part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception. InData Labs's strongest advantage: AI-only company with long computer vision and NLP experience.
How do Toptal and InData Labs differ in pricing?
Toptal uses hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request pricing. InData Labs uses dedicated team billed monthly; projects from under $50,000 to over $100,000 (clutch); rates on request pricing. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.
Which is better for enterprise: Toptal or InData Labs?
InData Labs is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Toptal and InData Labs?
Toptal's primary differentiator is: hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. InData Labs's primary differentiator is: dedicated AI teams with ten years of computer vision and NLP work. They also differ in team size (Large freelance network vs 50–100), minimum engagement (Not published vs Not published), and primary industries served (Technology, Finance vs Retail, Healthcare).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.