Top AI Staff Augmentation Services

Top AI Staff Augmentation Services in 2026

Ranked reviews of 28 providers that add AI engineers to your team, compared on how you can buy from them: full-time, part-time, by trial or by subscription.

28 providers reviewed Independent editorial

Which AI staff augmentation service is best?

Short answer: Tensorway is the top pick because it sells full-time engineers, part-time experts and a two-week trial sprint from one AI-only bench. Index.dev has the safest trial, Toptal the most flexible hours and Azumo the lowest published rate.

  • Best overall: Tensorway – Full-time, part-time and two-week trial options from the same AI-only provider
  • Best for a refundable trial before you commit: Index.dev – A refundable 30-day trial on every placement, plus direct hire
  • Best for a few hours a week of senior expertise: Toptal – Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial
  • Best for the lowest published rate: Azumo – A $25–$49 Clutch band with engineers working U.S. hours
  • Best for buying many AI seats under one contract: Quantiphi – Elastic Staffing, a packaged staffing program built with AWS
  • Best for paying for output instead of hours: Globant – Token-metered AI Pods subscription alongside conventional staffing

How do the 28 top AI staff augmentation services compare?

All 28 providers in rank order. Few publish rates, so the pricing column describes how each one bills.

Company Best for Pricing model Min. engagement Rating
Tensorway Editor's pick
Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every month Monthly rate for full-time dedicated engineers; hourly or weekly billing for part-time fractional experts; two-week trial sprint; rate card on request Not disclosed
4.8
Startups that want their money back if the first month doesn't work Monthly rate per engineer; direct-hire fee; 30-day refundable trial; rates on request Not published
4.5
A few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer Hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request Not published
4.4
Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers Team extension billed monthly per engineer; projects quoted separately; rates on request Not published
4.4
Knowing the rate band before the first sales call $50–$99/hr (Clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads Not published
4.3
U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate with same-day overlap $25–$49/hr (Clutch band); staff augmentation or dedicated team; no long-term commitment (per company) $10,000+
4.3
Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product from a large AI-only firm Elastic Staffing billed per specialist; consulting quoted separately; rates on request Not published
4.2
Agent engineering bought at a known rate and minimum $100–$149/hr (Clutch band); team extension or project billing $10,000+
4.2
Startups that need a senior AI engineer for a few hours a week on a monthly retainer Monthly retainer for part-time engagements; rates on request Not published
4.1
Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as a subscription instead of paying for hours AI Pods subscription with token-based capacity; conventional teams billed monthly; rates on request Not published
4.1
Financial firms that want flexible, short engagements with LLM specialists Monthly per engineer or project fee; rates on request Not published
4.1
U.S. teams that want a nearshore ML engineer at a known mid-range rate $50–$99/hr (Clutch band); augmentation or project delivery $25,000+
4.0
A small dedicated computer vision or NLP team rather than one person Dedicated team billed monthly; projects from under $50,000 to over $100,000 (Clutch); rates on request Not published
4.0
U.S. companies that want a Latin American AI engineer without upfront fees or a long contract Monthly per engineer; no upfront fees or long-term contracts (per company); senior AI/ML all-in cost about $103,000/yr (company benchmark) Not published
4.0
Several remote AI engineers matched quickly Monthly or hourly per developer; no public rate card; about $100–$200/hr (third-party estimate) Not published
4.0
Senior ML practitioners bought by the project Project or fractional billing; rates on request Not published
3.9
Companies buying long-term remote engineers at lower cost, with some AI roles in the mix Monthly per engineer; marketplace and managed options; rates on request Not published
3.9
MLOps or vision work with a two-week trial at offshore prices Monthly per engineer or team; two-week trial; rates on request Not published
3.9
U.S. buyers who want AI and software engineers under one nearshore contract Monthly per engineer or team; rates on request Not published
3.9
Cost-focused buyers who need Python data and AI developers started this week Monthly per developer or team; offshore rates; rates on request Not published
3.8
Enterprises that want to move between augmentation and a managed team with one vendor Monthly per engineer or managed team; rates on request Not published
3.8
Coverage in both Americas and European hours under one contract Monthly per engineer or team; rates on request Not published
3.8
Companies that want to choose between a recruiting fee and monthly outstaffing for Ukrainian AI talent Recruiting fee per hire; outstaffing billed monthly; rates on request Not published
3.8
Healthcare data teams buying a monthly NLP or data science team Dedicated team billed monthly; rates on request Not published
3.7
Academic ML depth for one defined project Project-based fees; rates on request Not published
3.7
Many contract contributors, with a short test before paying for longer Hourly or monthly per contractor; one-week test; rates on request Not published
3.7
U.S. companies that want to convert a contract AI engineer to staff Contract bill rate or placement fee; contract-to-hire conversion; rates on request Not published
3.6
AI labs buying short-term expert work in volume Contractor rate plus platform fee (about 30%, Sacra estimate) Not published
3.6

What are the ways to buy AI staff augmentation?

Most AI staff augmentation is sold in one of four shapes. A full-time dedicated engineer works only for you and is billed monthly. A fractional expert gives you part of each week, billed by the hour, by the week or on a retainer, while a dedicated team is several engineers sold as one unit, often with a lead. Then there is the trial, anything from Folio3's two weeks to Index.dev's refundable 30 days, which lets you test any of the other three before signing for longer. Most providers here sell one or two of these shapes. Tensorway, ranked first, sells all four.

Which shape fits depends on how much of the work you will direct yourself. With augmentation, the engineer joins your team, takes your tickets and goes through your code review, so the decisions and the knowledge stay with you. Outsourcing hands both to the vendor. That is simpler to manage and harder to unwind. Hiring in-house keeps everything, but a senior machine learning (ML) hire can take months. If you have a strong technical lead and a backlog that keeps changing, augmentation is usually the better buy.

Rate structure comes next, and few providers answer it in public. Of the 28 here, only Azumo, Uvik Software, Vstorm and Pento publish an hourly band, all on Clutch, and only Azumo, Vstorm and Pento show a minimum project. Everyone else quotes after a call. That alone is not a warning sign, but it means you should ask every provider for the same three things in writing: the monthly cost per engineer at the seniority you need, the notice period, and what a replacement costs.

Which frameworks and clouds does each provider cover?

Short answer: Python and PyTorch are close to universal. The cloud each provider favors, and whether it covers agent tooling such as LangChain, split the list more.

Company Primary tech stack
Tensorway Python, PyTorch, LangChain, OpenAI, Hugging Face
Index.dev Python, PyTorch, LangChain, Hugging Face, OpenAI
Toptal Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, Hugging Face, OpenAI
deepsense.ai Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, LangChain, AWS
Uvik Software Python, FastAPI, Django, Databricks, Snowflake
Azumo Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, LangChain, AWS
Quantiphi Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, AWS, Google Cloud
Vstorm Python, LangChain, LlamaIndex, OpenAI, Anthropic
Go Fractional Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, LangChain, AWS
Globant Python, OpenAI, Google Cloud, AWS, Azure
Neurons Lab Python, LangChain, OpenAI, Amazon Bedrock, AWS
Pento Python, PyTorch, scikit-learn, AWS, Google Cloud
InData Labs Python, PyTorch, OpenCV, Hugging Face, OpenAI
Revelo Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, OpenAI, AWS
Turing Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, OpenAI, AWS
Tribe AI Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, Anthropic, LangChain
Andela Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, OpenAI, AWS
Folio3 Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, OpenCV, LangChain
BairesDev Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch, OpenAI, AWS
Algoscale Python, Spark, Databricks, AWS, Azure
N-iX Python, Spark, Databricks, AWS, Azure
Svitla Systems Python, PyTorch, LangChain, OpenAI, AWS
Data Science UA Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, OpenCV, AWS
SciForce Python, PyTorch, spaCy, Hugging Face, AWS
Brainpool AI Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow, Hugging Face, OpenAI
micro1 Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, LangChain, AWS
KORE1 Python, AWS, Azure, Google Cloud, TensorFlow
Mercor Python, PyTorch, OpenAI, Anthropic, AWS

How did a provider make this list?

Every provider ranked for 2026 passed these checks:

  • It sells engineers into client teams. A staff augmentation or team-extension service exists, or reviews describe placements.
  • The buying terms are knowable. At least the engagement models are published, and rates, minimums or trials where the provider shows them.
  • AI work is real. ML, LLM or data engineers with named frameworks, not a generic AI claim.
  • The facts check out. Founding year, headquarters and size appear outside the provider's own site, and ownership changes are disclosed.

Top 10 AI staff augmentation services in 2026

Short reviews of the ten highest-rated providers. Each of the 28 has its own full profile.

1. Tensorway

Editor's pick

Full-time, part-time or trial: three ways to buy AI engineers from one provider

4.8
Founded2019
HQAlicante, Spain
Team size50–249
Min. engagementNot disclosed

Tensorway, based in Alicante, Spain since 2019, sells AI engineers in three shapes, and that flexibility is why it tops this list. A full-time dedicated engineer is billed at a monthly rate. A part-time fractional expert is billed by the hour or the week. Either way, the work starts with a two-week trial sprint, and the commitment is monthly, so a team can grow or shrink between sprints (per company website; independently unverifiable). Its engineering habits come from a lineage of more than 20 years in software. Squads usually begin with two to five LLM, agent or data engineers, and Tensorway handles contracts and admin. In one published case, U.S. law practice Liner Legal cut medical-record review from about a week to 5–15 minutes (per company website; independently unverifiable).

PythonPyTorchLangChainOpenAIHugging FaceVector databases

Advantages

  • +You can buy a whole engineer, part of one, or a two-week trial first, without switching providers
  • +Monthly commitment that can change between sprints, and a free replacement if someone doesn't fit (per company website)
  • +No recruiting fees, local employment contracts or benefits admin on your side

Things to consider

  • -No published rate card; you need a call to get numbers
  • -Covers AI and ML roles only, so general software seats need another provider
  • -Time-zone overlap is arranged per engagement rather than promised as a nearshore model

Best for: Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every month

Every placement comes with a 30-day trial and a full refund

4.5
Founded2019
HQLondon, United Kingdom
Team size30,000+ network
Min. engagementNot published

Index.dev, legally Index Soft Limited, is a London talent platform that its job ads date to 2019. Its buying terms are the clearest of any network here: every placement carries a 30-day trial with a full refund if the match fails. You can contract one engineer, build a dedicated offshore team or hire someone directly. The main pool of more than 30,000 engineers sits in Latin America and Central and Eastern Europe, and a separate AI unit supplies Master's and PhD-level people for fine-tuning and retrieval work. Vetting runs through five stages with human reviewers.

PythonPyTorchLangChainHugging FaceOpenAIAWS

Advantages

  • +A full refund in the first 30 days lowers the cost of a bad match
  • +Contract and direct-hire routes from one provider
  • +Talent in both U.S.-friendly and European time zones

Things to consider

  • -Engineers are network members, not employees
  • -Acceptance-rate figures are the company's own
  • -No published monthly rates

Best for: Startups that want their money back if the first month doesn't work

Hourly or weekly freelance AI specialists with a no-risk start

4.4
Founded2010
HQRemote-first (no central office)
Team sizeLarge freelance network
Min. engagementNot published

Toptal has run its remote freelance network since 2010, and its buying model is the most flexible on the hours side. You can book a machine learning, NLP or generative AI specialist for a few hours a week or full-time, billed hourly or weekly, and each new engagement starts with a no-risk trial. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants pass a screen that ends with interviews by senior engineers and a test project. What you give up is a stable employee: freelancers choose their clients, and Toptal publishes no rate card.

PythonPyTorchTensorFlowHugging FaceOpenAILangChain

Advantages

  • +Part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception
  • +Trial at the start of each engagement
  • +Published screening with engineer-run interviews

Things to consider

  • -Premium pricing and no public rate card
  • -Freelancers can leave for another client
  • -Less suited to building a stable team of several engineers

Best for: A few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer

Monthly team extension from an employed Warsaw AI bench

4.4
Founded2014
HQWarsaw, Poland
Team size100–200
Min. engagementNot published

deepsense.ai has worked on AI from Warsaw since 2014 and employs about 120 AI specialists, according to its job listings. You buy its engineers as monthly team extension, alongside or instead of a consulting project, and most of them are employees rather than contractors, which keeps the same person on your work for longer. Its strengths are computer vision, MLOps and LLM systems that have to run in production. There is no public rate card, and staffing gets less marketing attention than its project work.

PythonPyTorchTensorFlowLangChainAWSGoogle Cloud

Advantages

  • +Mostly employed engineers, so continuity is good
  • +Can switch between staffing and a delivered project
  • +Strong computer vision and MLOps depth

Things to consider

  • -No part-time or trial option published
  • -No public rates
  • -About 120 people, so large requests take time

Best for: Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers

Published rate band and 14-day scaling terms for Python AI engineers

4.3
Founded2015
HQTallinn, Estonia
Team size50–249
Min. engagementNot published

Uvik Software, founded in 2015 and based in Tallinn with a sales office in Ipswich, sells Python engineers for data, AI and backend work, and it is one of the few providers here whose buying terms you can read before calling. Clutch lists a $50 to $99 hourly band. Squads of three to eight engineers can be scaled up or down on 14 days' notice, and profiles arrive within 24 to 48 hours. All engineers are full-time employees with seven to fourteen years of experience on average. An aggregator mentions a 30-day free replacement, but Uvik's own pages don't confirm it.

PythonFastAPIDjangoDatabricksSnowflakeOpenAI

Advantages

  • +Rate band is published
  • +14-day notice to scale a squad up or down
  • +Employed engineers only, no freelancers

Things to consider

  • -Python only
  • -No part-time option published
  • -Replacement guarantee is reported only by third parties

Best for: Knowing the rate band before the first sales call

The lowest published rate band here, from Argentina on U.S. hours

4.3
Founded2016
HQSan Francisco, California, USA
Team size50–249
Min. engagement$10,000+

Azumo was founded in 2016, is headquartered in San Francisco and delivers mostly from Argentina, including an office in Rosario. On Clutch its hourly band is $25 to $49, with a $10,000 minimum project, which makes it the cheapest provider on this page that publishes a figure. You can buy single engineers through staff augmentation, a dedicated nearshore team or virtual CTO services, all without a long-term commitment, according to its site. AI is one of several practices, so check the experience of each engineer you are offered.

PythonPyTorchOpenAILangChainAWSGoogle Cloud

Advantages

  • +Lowest published band on this list
  • +U.S. time-zone overlap
  • +No long-term commitment required

Things to consider

  • -AI is one practice among several
  • -Fewer research-grade ML specialists
  • -Headcount varies widely by source

Best for: U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate with same-day overlap

A named staffing product, Elastic Staffing, from a large AI-only firm

4.2
Founded2013
HQMarlborough, Massachusetts, USA
Team size3,000–4,000+
Min. engagementNot published

Quantiphi, founded in 2013 in Marlborough, Massachusetts, employs between 3,000 and 4,000+ people on AI and data work alone. For buyers, its most useful feature is that staffing comes as a named product. Elastic Staffing, built with AWS, places generative AI and ML specialists into client teams, which gives procurement something defined to sign. It is the right call when you need many roles at once. Smaller requests compete with large consulting programs, and rates appear only after scoping.

PythonTensorFlowPyTorchAWSGoogle CloudAmazon Bedrock

Advantages

  • +A named staffing product simplifies procurement
  • +Can fill many AI roles at once
  • +Senior partner status with Google Cloud and AWS

Things to consider

  • -Small requests get less attention
  • -No public rates or trial
  • -Headcount estimates vary

Best for: Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product from a large AI-only firm

Agent and LLM engineers with a public rate band and minimum

4.2
Founded2017
HQWrocław, Poland
Team size10–49
Min. engagement$10,000+

Vstorm, in Wrocław since 2017, builds LLM agents and retrieval-augmented systems and lends the same engineers to client teams. Its Clutch profile gives buyers the two numbers most providers hide: an hourly band of $100 to $149 and a $10,000 minimum project. The score from verified reviews is 4.9. With 10 to 49 people, it can supply one or two engineers, not a department, and its work is concentrated on agents rather than classic ML.

PythonLangChainLlamaIndexOpenAIAnthropicAWS

Advantages

  • +Rate band and minimum are public
  • +Agent and RAG specialists
  • +4.9 score from verified Clutch reviews

Things to consider

  • -Small team
  • -Higher rate than most Central European providers
  • -Little classic ML or computer vision

Best for: Agent engineering bought at a known rate and minimum

A platform built for hiring part-time AI engineers

4.1
Founded2021
HQNew York, USA
Team sizeNot published; network of fractional professionals
Min. engagementNot published

Go Fractional was founded in 2021 and is based in New York. It matches companies with experienced professionals who work part-time, across engineering, product, marketing and other functions, and it has dedicated pages for hiring fractional AI developers and engineers. It says most companies are matched and onboarding within three days. Fractional work is the whole model here, not an add-on, so it suits buyers who need senior judgment a few hours a week. It is less suited to buyers who need several engineers writing code full-time.

PythonPyTorchOpenAILangChainAWSGoogle Cloud

Advantages

  • +Part-time hiring is the core product
  • +Matching within about three days (per company)
  • +Covers AI leadership as well as hands-on engineers

Things to consider

  • -Not built for full-time or team staffing
  • -Founded in 2021, so a short track record
  • -Vetting process is not described in detail

Best for: Startups that need a senior AI engineer for a few hours a week on a monthly retainer

AI Pods: a subscription priced on token capacity instead of headcount

4.1
Founded2003
HQLuxembourg (founded in Buenos Aires, Argentina)
Team size27,000+
Min. engagementNot published

Globant was founded in 2003 in Buenos Aires and had about 27,400 employees in mid-2026 after cutting from roughly 30,000. It is here because of how its newest service is bought. AI Pods are agent-driven service units supervised by Globant experts and sold as a subscription with token-based capacity, so you pay for output rather than for engineers' hours. AI Pod annual recurring revenue reached $52.8 million in June 2026, still around 2% of company revenue. Classic staff augmentation remains available, but this is a large generalist, not an AI specialist.

PythonOpenAIGoogle CloudAWSAzureDatabricks

Advantages

  • +A genuinely different way to buy: output capacity, not headcount
  • +Large Latin American workforce on U.S.-friendly hours
  • +Publicly listed, with audited reporting on the AI Pods business

Things to consider

  • -AI Pods are new and only about 2% of revenue
  • -A generalist where AI is one line among many
  • -Recent layoffs and a cut to annual guidance in 2026

Best for: Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as a subscription instead of paying for hours

Which provider fits the way you want to buy?

Short answer: decide first whether you want a full-time engineer, part of one, a refundable trial or a route to a permanent hire. That choice narrows the list faster than any rating.

What you want to buy Recommended provider Why
One full-time LLM engineer, with a trial first Tensorway Two-week trial sprint, then monthly terms that can change between sprints
Your money back if the first month fails Index.dev 30-day trial with a full refund on every placement
A senior specialist for a few hours a week Toptal Hourly or weekly freelance booking with a no-risk start
A part-time AI lead on a monthly retainer Go Fractional A platform built only for part-time professionals
A known rate before the first call Uvik Software $50–$99/hr Clutch band and 14-day scaling terms
The lowest published rate on U.S. hours Azumo $25–$49/hr Clutch band from Argentina
A path from contractor to permanent hire KORE1 Contract-to-hire terms for AI roles in the U.S.

How do you compare AI staff augmentation quotes?

Short answer: put every quote on the same basis: monthly cost per engineer, notice period, trial terms and replacement time.

Criterion Why it matters What to check Red flag
Engagement shape A fractional expert and a full-time engineer solve different problems Which of full-time, part-time, team and trial the provider sells Only one option, whatever you ask for
Price transparency Comparing quotes is impossible without a common unit Monthly cost per engineer at your seniority, in writing Rates only after several calls
Trial and replacement The first month shows more than any interview Trial length, refund terms and replacement time No trial and a six-month minimum
Notice period Projects change faster than annual contracts Days of notice to scale down Notice longer than a month for single engineers
Fees and margin Platform fees compound on long engagements Split between engineer pay and provider fee A fee you discover on the first invoice
Ownership and conversion Code, models and people may need to move in-house IP assignment and the direct-hire fee No conversion route at any price

How is the way companies buy AI staff augmentation changing in 2026?

Pricing by output has arrived. Globant's AI Pods are sold as a subscription with token-based capacity, so the client pays for work produced rather than hours, and their annual recurring revenue reached $52.8 million in June 2026. That is still only about 2% of Globant's revenue, and nobody else on this list sells engineering this way yet. For now its main use to you is as a point of comparison when a provider quotes by the hour.

Part-time buying is turning into a product of its own. Go Fractional, founded in 2021, sells nothing but part-time professionals and says most matches happen within about three days. Tribe AI, Neurons Lab and Toptal also make part-time AI work easy to arrange. For a startup, ten hours a week of a senior engineer can do more than a junior hire working full-time. It only works if someone inside the company owns the day-to-day.

Platform fees are getting a closer look. Sacra estimates that Mercor takes about 30% on top of contractor pay, and Revelo advertises no upfront fees and no long-term contracts as selling points. Fees are rarely itemized in an augmentation quote, so ask for the split between what the engineer earns and what the provider keeps, especially on contracts longer than six months.

Which providers sell full-time, part-time, trial or direct-hire options?

Short answer: full-time dedicated engineers are the default. Part-time work is easiest at Tensorway, Toptal, Go Fractional, Neurons Lab and Tribe AI, trials at Index.dev, Tensorway, Folio3, Toptal and micro1, and direct hire at Index.dev, Data Science UA and KORE1.

Company Contract-to-hireDedicated teamDirect hireFreelance contractFull-time dedicatedPart-time fractionalProject deliverySubscriptionTrial period
Tensorway – – – – ✓ ✓ – – ✓
Index.dev – ✓ ✓ – ✓ – – – ✓
Toptal – – – ✓ – ✓ – – ✓
deepsense.ai – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Uvik Software – ✓ – – ✓ – – – –
Azumo – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Quantiphi – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Vstorm – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Go Fractional – – – – – ✓ – – –
Globant – ✓ – – – – ✓ ✓ –
Neurons Lab – – – – ✓ ✓ ✓ – –
Pento – – – – ✓ – ✓ – –
InData Labs – ✓ – – – – ✓ – –
Revelo – – – ✓ ✓ – – – –
Turing – ✓ – ✓ ✓ – – – –
Tribe AI – – – – – ✓ ✓ – –
Andela – ✓ – ✓ ✓ – – – –
Folio3 – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – ✓
BairesDev – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Algoscale – ✓ – – ✓ – – – –
N-iX – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Svitla Systems – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Data Science UA – ✓ ✓ – ✓ – – – –
SciForce – ✓ – – ✓ – ✓ – –
Brainpool AI – – – – – ✓ ✓ – –
micro1 – – – ✓ – – – – ✓
KORE1 ✓ – ✓ ✓ – – – – –
Mercor – – – ✓ – – – – –

How much do AI staff augmentation services cost?

Short answer: most providers quote after a call. These are the published figures, company benchmarks and named estimates we found.

Option Published cost data Best for
Nearshore engineer, hourly band Azumo: $25–$49/hr, $10,000+ minimum; Pento: $50–$99/hr, $25,000+ minimum (Clutch) U.S. teams that want a known rate
Employed Python AI engineer, Europe Uvik Software: $50–$99/hr (Clutch), 14-day scaling terms Long engagements with stable staff
Specialist agent engineer Vstorm: $100–$149/hr, $10,000+ minimum (Clutch) Shipping an agent
Full-time Latin American AI engineer, salary basis Revelo: about $103,000/yr all-in for a senior AI/ML engineer (company benchmark) Year-long roles
Freelance marketplace Turing: about $100–$200/hr (third-party estimate); Mercor: contractor pay plus about 30% (Sacra estimate) Short or high-volume work
AI-only provider with a trial Tensorway: monthly full-time or hourly part-time, rates on request, two-week trial sprint Starting small and scaling by sprint
Subscription capacity Globant AI Pods: token-based subscription, rates on request Buying output instead of hours

Which providers publish a minimum engagement?

Short answer: only three do, all on Clutch: Azumo and Vstorm at $10,000+ and Pento at $25,000+. They appear first below.

Company Minimum engagement Best for at this budget
Azumo $10,000+ U.S. buyers who need the lowest published rate...
Vstorm $10,000+ Agent engineering bought at a known rate and...
Pento $25,000+ U.S. teams that want a nearshore ML engineer...
Tensorway Not disclosed Starting small, testing fast and adjusting headcount every...
Index.dev Not published Startups that want their money back if the...
Toptal Not published A few hours a week of senior AI...
deepsense.ai Not published Long monthly contracts with employed senior ML engineers.
Uvik Software Not published Knowing the rate band before the first sales...
Quantiphi Not published Procurement teams that want a defined staffing product...
Go Fractional Not published Startups that need a senior AI engineer for...
Globant Not published Enterprises that want to buy AI delivery as...
Neurons Lab Not published Financial firms that want flexible, short engagements with...
InData Labs Not published A small dedicated computer vision or NLP team...
Revelo Not published U.S. companies that want a Latin American AI...
Turing Not published Several remote AI engineers matched quickly.
Tribe AI Not published Senior ML practitioners bought by the project.
Andela Not published Companies buying long-term remote engineers at lower cost,...
Folio3 Not published MLOps or vision work with a two-week trial...
BairesDev Not published U.S. buyers who want AI and software engineers...
Algoscale Not published Cost-focused buyers who need Python data and AI...
N-iX Not published Enterprises that want to move between augmentation and...
Svitla Systems Not published Coverage in both Americas and European hours under...
Data Science UA Not published Companies that want to choose between a recruiting...
SciForce Not published Healthcare data teams buying a monthly NLP or...
Brainpool AI Not published Academic ML depth for one defined project.
micro1 Not published Many contract contributors, with a short test before...
KORE1 Not published U.S. companies that want to convert a contract...
Mercor Not published AI labs buying short-term expert work in volume.

Which AI staff augmentation provider knows your industry?

Short answer: sector experience matters most where data is regulated, as in legal, banking and healthcare work.

Industry Recommended provider Reason
Legal services Tensorway Cut medical-record review for a U.S. law practice from a week to minutes (per company website)
Banking and insurance Neurons Lab Banks and insurers among its clients, plus an AWS generative AI competency
Healthcare and medical data SciForce Medical data science and clinical NLP teams on monthly terms
Retail and consumer apps InData Labs Dedicated computer vision and NLP teams for retail clients
Automotive and agriculture Folio3 Has supplied an MLOps team to a vehicle-data company
AI labs and model training Mercor Built around supplying experts for model training and evaluation

Which industries does each provider list?

Short answer: financial services and healthcare come up most. Logistics and manufacturing have far fewer providers.

Company SaaS Healthcare Finance Retail Manufacturing Logistics
Tensorway ✓✓✓✓–✓
Index.dev ✓✓✓–––
Toptal –✓✓✓––
deepsense.ai –✓✓✓✓–
Uvik Software ✓✓✓–––
Azumo ✓✓✓✓––
Quantiphi –✓✓✓––
Vstorm ✓✓✓✓––
Go Fractional ✓✓✓–––
Globant –✓✓✓––
Neurons Lab –✓✓✓––
Pento ✓–✓✓–✓
InData Labs –✓✓✓✓–
Revelo ✓✓✓–––
Turing –✓✓✓––
Tribe AI –✓✓–––
Andela –✓✓✓––
Folio3 –✓✓✓––
BairesDev –✓✓✓––
Algoscale ✓✓✓✓––
N-iX –✓✓✓✓–
Svitla Systems –✓✓✓––
Data Science UA –✓✓✓––
SciForce –✓✓––✓
Brainpool AI –✓✓✓––
micro1 ✓✓✓–––
KORE1 –✓✓–✓–
Mercor –✓✓–––

What can you buy from each provider?

Short answer: dedicated teams and ML engineers are everywhere. Published rates, subscription pricing and direct-hire options narrow it to a few providers.

Company Roles and engagement options
Tensorway LLM Engineers, AI Agent Developers, Data Engineering, Fractional Experts, Dedicated Teams, Trial Period
Index.dev LLM Engineers, RAG & GenAI, ML Engineers, Trial Period, Direct Hire Option, Nearshore LatAm, Eastern Europe Talent
Toptal ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, NLP, Fractional Experts, Trial Period, Talent Marketplace
deepsense.ai ML Engineers, MLOps, Computer Vision, RAG & GenAI, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent
Uvik Software Data Engineering, LLM Engineers, ML Engineers, Published Rates, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent
Azumo ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Published Rates, Nearshore LatAm, Dedicated Teams
Quantiphi ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, MLOps, Data Engineering, Dedicated Teams
Vstorm AI Agent Developers, LLM Engineers, RAG & GenAI, Published Rates, Eastern Europe Talent
Go Fractional ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Fractional Experts, Talent Marketplace
Globant AI Agent Developers, Data Engineering, Subscription Pricing, Nearshore LatAm, Dedicated Teams
Neurons Lab LLM Engineers, AI Agent Developers, Fractional Experts, Dedicated Teams
Pento ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Published Rates, Nearshore LatAm
InData Labs Computer Vision, NLP, RAG & GenAI, Dedicated Teams
Revelo ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Nearshore LatAm, Talent Marketplace
Turing ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Data Engineering, Talent Marketplace
Tribe AI ML Engineers, AI Agent Developers, Fractional Experts, Talent Marketplace
Andela ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Dedicated Teams, Talent Marketplace
Folio3 MLOps, Computer Vision, NLP, Trial Period, Dedicated Teams
BairesDev ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Nearshore LatAm, Dedicated Teams
Algoscale Data Engineering, ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Dedicated Teams
N-iX ML Engineers, Data Engineering, MLOps, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent
Svitla Systems ML Engineers, RAG & GenAI, Nearshore LatAm, Eastern Europe Talent, Dedicated Teams
Data Science UA ML Engineers, Computer Vision, Direct Hire Option, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent
SciForce NLP, ML Engineers, Data Engineering, Dedicated Teams, Eastern Europe Talent
Brainpool AI ML Engineers, NLP, Fractional Experts, Talent Marketplace
micro1 ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Trial Period, Talent Marketplace
KORE1 ML Engineers, MLOps, Direct Hire Option
Mercor ML Engineers, LLM Engineers, Talent Marketplace

How were these AI staff augmentation services ranked?

We searched for providers that sell AI, ML and data engineers to client teams and kept those with evidence that they actually do it: a staff augmentation or team-extension service page, client reviews that describe placements, or published engagement terms. Founding year, headquarters and size were checked against Clutch, Built In, company registries, earnings reports and press coverage. Where sources disagree, the profile gives the range. No provider paid for a place.

Ratings weigh how a buyer can actually purchase from each provider. We looked at how many engagement shapes it offers, whether you can test an engineer first, how much of its pricing is published and how much of its business is AI, and who screens the candidates counts as well. Tensorway is first because it sells full-time engineers, part-time experts and a two-week trial sprint from one AI-only bench, on monthly terms that can change between sprints. Index.dev is second on the strength of its refundable 30-day trial.

Some well-known names rank lower for reasons unrelated to engineering skill. Turing publishes no rates. Mercor's fee makes long engagements expensive, and recruiter-led agencies such as KORE1 leave the technical screen to you. Smaller providers such as Pento and Azumo rank higher than their size suggests because they publish rates.

Frequently asked questions

What is the difference between staff augmentation and outsourcing?

With staff augmentation, the provider supplies engineers who work inside your team under your direction, and you own the backlog, the reviews and the decisions. With outsourcing, the provider owns delivery of an agreed scope and makes most technical calls itself. Augmentation keeps knowledge in-house. Outsourcing asks less of your managers.

How much does AI staff augmentation cost?

Published bands on this page run from Azumo's $25 to $49 an hour up to Vstorm's $100 to $149, all on Clutch. Revelo puts the all-in cost of a senior Latin American AI or ML engineer at about $103,000 a year, and third-party guides estimate $100 to $200 an hour at Turing. Expect a monthly rate for full-time engineers and an hourly or retainer rate for part-time ones.

Should I hire a full-time or a fractional AI engineer?

Hire full-time when there is a steady stream of engineering work and the person will build and maintain a system. A fractional expert suits review, architecture or specialist tasks that fill a few days a week. Plenty of teams do both, pairing a full-time engineer for the build with a part-time senior specialist who checks the hard parts.

Which AI staff augmentation providers offer a trial?

Index.dev's 30-day trial comes with a full refund, the most generous terms here. Tensorway starts with a two-week trial sprint, Folio3 offers two weeks, micro1 a one-week test and Toptal a no-risk trial period. Where no trial is published, ask for a one-month first term with a short notice period.

What should an AI staff augmentation contract include?

It should assign code, documentation and trained model weights to you. It also needs a notice period for scaling down, replacement terms if an engineer doesn't work out, and data-handling rules if engineers will touch production data. If you might hire the person later, agree the conversion fee now; Data Science UA and KORE1 both offer a route to a permanent hire.

Compare two AI staff augmentation providers side by side

Each comparison page provides a side-by-side analysis of two providers across pricing, tech stack, services, and use case fit. 378 total comparison pages available.

Additional comparisons for all 28 providers are accessible via each profile page.

What are the alternatives to a provider you are already considering?

Looking for alternatives to a specific provider? Each alternatives page lists ranked alternatives covering all 28 providers in this review.