Toptal vs Revelo: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Toptal (4.4/5) edges ahead of Revelo (4.0/5) overall. Toptal is the better choice for a few hours a week of senior AI expertise without a monthly retainer. Revelo is the stronger option for U.S. companies that want a Latin American AI engineer without upfront fees or a long contract. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Toptal vs Revelo: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Toptal | Revelo |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2010 | 2014 |
| HQ | Remote-first (no central office) | Miami, Florida, USA |
| Team size | Large freelance network | 400,000+ network (company figure) |
| Rating | 4.4 / 5 | 4.0 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial | No upfront fees, no long-term contract and published salary benchmarks |
| Pricing model | Hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request | Monthly per engineer; no upfront fees or long-term contracts (per company); senior AI/ML all-in cost about $103,000/yr (company benchmark) |
| Min. engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Primary tech stack | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow | Python, PyTorch, TensorFlow |
| Industries served | Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail | Technology, Fintech, SaaS, Healthcare, AI labs |
Toptal vs Revelo: overview
Toptal
Toptal has run its remote freelance network since 2010, and its buying model is the most flexible on the hours side. You can book a machine learning, NLP or generative AI specialist for a few hours a week or full-time, billed hourly or weekly, and each new engagement starts with a no-risk trial. Toptal says fewer than 3% of applicants pass a screen that ends with interviews by senior engineers and a test project. What you give up is a stable employee: freelancers choose their clients, and Toptal publishes no rate card.
Revelo
Revelo started in 2014 (one listing says 2015) and has a U.S. base in Miami and operations in São Paulo. It places engineers from a Latin American network it puts at over 400,000, and its platform pages promise no upfront fees and no long-term contracts. Revelo also publishes salary benchmarks. Its figure for a senior AI or ML engineer is about $103,000 a year all-in, roughly 55% below a comparable U.S. hire. LLM training work made up 22% of its 2024 revenue, according to TechCrunch.
Services and capabilities: Toptal vs Revelo
| Capability | Toptal | Revelo |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time dedicated engineers | ✗ | ✓ |
| Part-time / fractional experts | ✓ | ✗ |
| Dedicated team | ✗ | ✗ |
| Trial before commitment | ✓ | ✗ |
| Published rates | ✗ | ✗ |
| Direct hire option | ✗ | ✗ |
| Subscription or output-based pricing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Nearshore time-zone overlap | ✗ | ✓ |
| LLM / GenAI engineers | ✓ | ✓ |
| MLOps | ✗ | ✗ |
| Computer vision | ✗ | ✗ |
| Data engineering | ✗ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Toptal vs Revelo
| Framework / platform | Toptal | Revelo |
|---|---|---|
| PyTorch | ✓ | ✓ |
| TensorFlow | ✓ | ✓ |
| LangChain | ✓ | N/A |
| Hugging Face | ✓ | N/A |
| OpenAI | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | ✓ | N/A |
| Google Cloud | N/A | ✓ |
| Databricks | N/A | N/A |
| Kubernetes | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Toptal vs Revelo
| Criterion | Toptal | Revelo |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Engagement models | Part-time fractional, Freelance contract, Trial period | Full-time dedicated, Freelance contract |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Not public |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Toptal vs Revelo
| Dimension | Toptal | Revelo |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | Technology, Finance, Healthcare | Technology, Fintech, SaaS |
| Best use cases | Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week, Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer | Hiring a Brazilian ML engineer without a long contract, Budgeting a nearshore AI team from published salary data |
| Typical project type | Part-time fractional | Full-time dedicated |
Toptal vs Revelo: pros and cons
| Toptal | |
|---|---|
| + | Part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception |
| + | Trial at the start of each engagement |
| + | Published screening with engineer-run interviews |
| - | Premium pricing and no public rate card |
| - | Freelancers can leave for another client |
| - | Less suited to building a stable team of several engineers |
| Revelo | |
|---|---|
| + | No upfront fee or long-term contract |
| + | Published salary benchmarks help with budgeting |
| + | Large Latin American network on U.S. hours |
| - | Part of revenue comes from AI-lab training work |
| - | Salary figures come from Revelo itself |
| - | Founding year and headquarters differ by source |
Who should choose Toptal?
A typical fit: booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week.
Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Technology, Finance, Healthcare, Media, Retail.
Who should choose Revelo?
A typical fit: hiring a Brazilian ML engineer without a long contract.
No upfront fees, no long-term contract and published salary benchmarks. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Technology, Fintech, SaaS, Healthcare, AI labs.
Decision matrix: Toptal vs Revelo
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want one engineer full-time on a monthly contract | Revelo |
| You only need a specialist a few days a week | Toptal |
| You want to test an engineer before committing | Toptal |
| You need a rate before the first call | Neither publishes rates; ask both for a written rate card |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Toptal (Not published) vs Revelo (Not published) |
| You may want to hire the engineer permanently later | Neither lists direct hire; agree conversion terms up front |
| You want several engineers working as one team | Neither lists dedicated teams; check team size before signing |
Use case fit: Toptal vs Revelo
| Use case | Toptal fit | Revelo fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Booking a senior ML reviewer for eight hours a week | Strong | Limited | Toptal |
| Covering a three-month NLP project with one freelancer | Strong | Limited | Toptal |
| Hiring a Brazilian ML engineer without a long contract | Limited | Strong | Revelo |
| Budgeting a nearshore AI team from published salary data | Limited | Strong | Revelo |
Verdict: Toptal vs Revelo
Toptal (4.4/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Staff Augmentation projects. Hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial.
Revelo (4.0/5) is worth a look if you need budgeting a nearshore AI team from published salary data. If your situation matches that, Revelo is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Toptal vs Revelo FAQ
Is Toptal better than Revelo?
Toptal (4.4/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Toptal's strongest advantage: part-time and hourly work is normal, not an exception. Revelo's strongest advantage: no upfront fee or long-term contract.
How do Toptal and Revelo differ in pricing?
Toptal uses hourly or weekly freelance rates set per specialist; no-risk trial; rates on request pricing. Revelo uses monthly per engineer; no upfront fees or long-term contracts (per company); senior ai/ml all-in cost about $103,000/yr (company benchmark) pricing. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.
Which is better for enterprise: Toptal or Revelo?
Revelo is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Toptal and Revelo?
Toptal's primary differentiator is: hourly or weekly booking of screened freelancers with a no-risk trial. Revelo's primary differentiator is: no upfront fees, no long-term contract and published salary benchmarks. They also differ in team size (Large freelance network vs 400,000+ network (company figure)), minimum engagement (Not published vs Not published), and primary industries served (Technology, Finance vs Technology, Fintech).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.