Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Uvik Software (4.3/5) edges ahead of Neurons Lab (4.1/5) overall. Uvik Software is the better choice for knowing the rate band before the first sales call. Neurons Lab is the stronger option for financial firms that want flexible, short engagements with LLM specialists. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Uvik Software | Neurons Lab |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2015 | 2019 |
| HQ | Tallinn, Estonia | London, United Kingdom |
| Team size | 50–249 | 50–200 staff; 500+ network |
| Rating | 4.3 / 5 | 4.1 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice | Network model that makes short and part-time engagements easy |
| Pricing model | $50–$99/hr (Clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads | Monthly per engineer or project fee; rates on request |
| Min. engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Primary tech stack | Python, FastAPI, Django | Python, LangChain, OpenAI |
| Industries served | SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms, E-commerce, Healthcare | Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare, Cleantech, Retail |
Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab: overview
Uvik Software
Uvik Software, founded in 2015 and based in Tallinn with a sales office in Ipswich, sells Python engineers for data, AI and backend work, and it is one of the few providers here whose buying terms you can read before calling. Clutch lists a $50 to $99 hourly band. Squads of three to eight engineers can be scaled up or down on 14 days' notice, and profiles arrive within 24 to 48 hours. All engineers are full-time employees with seven to fourteen years of experience on average. An aggregator mentions a 30-day free replacement, but Uvik's own pages don't confirm it.
Neurons Lab
Neurons Lab was founded in London in 2019 and keeps a small core staff while drawing on a distributed network of more than 500 engineers, according to its site. That arrangement makes it easy to buy a specialist for a short stretch or part of each week, which an employer-only model makes harder. Its clients include banks and insurers, and it holds an AWS generative AI competency. Continuity is the trade-off, because network members are not employees.
Services and capabilities: Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab
| Capability | Uvik Software | Neurons Lab |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time dedicated engineers | ✓ | ✓ |
| Part-time / fractional experts | ✗ | ✓ |
| Dedicated team | ✓ | ✓ |
| Trial before commitment | ✗ | ✗ |
| Published rates | ✓ | ✗ |
| Direct hire option | ✗ | ✗ |
| Subscription or output-based pricing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Nearshore time-zone overlap | ✗ | ✗ |
| LLM / GenAI engineers | ✓ | ✓ |
| MLOps | ✗ | ✗ |
| Computer vision | ✗ | ✗ |
| Data engineering | ✓ | ✗ |
Tech stack comparison: Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab
| Framework / platform | Uvik Software | Neurons Lab |
|---|---|---|
| PyTorch | ✓ | ✓ |
| TensorFlow | N/A | N/A |
| LangChain | N/A | ✓ |
| Hugging Face | N/A | N/A |
| OpenAI | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | N/A | N/A |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Kubernetes | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab
| Criterion | Uvik Software | Neurons Lab |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Engagement models | Full-time dedicated, Dedicated team | Full-time dedicated, Part-time fractional, Project delivery |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Not public |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab
| Dimension | Uvik Software | Neurons Lab |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms | Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare |
| Best use cases | Adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM, Scaling a Databricks squad from three to six for a quarter | Buying three months of an agent engineer's time, Adding a part-time LLM specialist to an insurer's team |
| Typical project type | Full-time dedicated | Full-time dedicated |
Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab: pros and cons
| Uvik Software | |
|---|---|
| + | Rate band is published |
| + | 14-day notice to scale a squad up or down |
| + | Employed engineers only, no freelancers |
| - | Python only |
| - | No part-time option published |
| - | Replacement guarantee is reported only by third parties |
| Neurons Lab | |
|---|---|
| + | Part-time and short engagements are easy to arrange |
| + | Banking and insurance references |
| + | AWS generative AI competency |
| - | Network members are not employees |
| - | No published rates |
| - | Headcount estimates vary |
Who should choose Uvik Software?
A typical fit: adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM.
A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms, E-commerce, Healthcare.
Who should choose Neurons Lab?
A typical fit: buying three months of an agent engineer's time.
Network model that makes short and part-time engagements easy. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Financial services, Insurance, Healthcare, Cleantech, Retail.
Decision matrix: Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want one engineer full-time on a monthly contract | Both; Uvik Software rates higher overall |
| You only need a specialist a few days a week | Neurons Lab |
| You want to test an engineer before committing | Neither publishes a trial; negotiate a short first term |
| You need a rate before the first call | Uvik Software |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Uvik Software (Not published) vs Neurons Lab (Not published) |
| You may want to hire the engineer permanently later | Neither lists direct hire; agree conversion terms up front |
| You want several engineers working as one team | Both; Uvik Software rates higher overall |
Use case fit: Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab
| Use case | Uvik Software fit | Neurons Lab fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| Scaling a Databricks squad from three to six for a quarter | Strong | Limited | Uvik Software |
| Buying three months of an agent engineer's time | Limited | Strong | Neurons Lab |
| Adding a part-time LLM specialist to an insurer's team | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
Verdict: Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab
Uvik Software (4.3/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Staff Augmentation projects. A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice.
Neurons Lab (4.1/5) is worth a look if you need adding a part-time LLM specialist to an insurer's team. If your situation matches that, Neurons Lab is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Uvik Software vs Neurons Lab FAQ
Is Uvik Software better than Neurons Lab?
Uvik Software (4.3/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Uvik Software's strongest advantage: rate band is published. Neurons Lab's strongest advantage: part-time and short engagements are easy to arrange.
How do Uvik Software and Neurons Lab differ in pricing?
Uvik Software uses $50–$99/hr (clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads pricing. Neurons Lab uses monthly per engineer or project fee; rates on request pricing. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.
Which is better for enterprise: Uvik Software or Neurons Lab?
Neurons Lab is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Uvik Software and Neurons Lab?
Uvik Software's primary differentiator is: a public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice. Neurons Lab's primary differentiator is: network model that makes short and part-time engagements easy. They also differ in team size (50–249 vs 50–200 staff; 500+ network), minimum engagement (Not published vs Not published), and primary industries served (SaaS, Fintech vs Financial services, Insurance).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.