Uvik Software vs Andela: full comparison for 2026
Quick verdict
Uvik Software (4.3/5) edges ahead of Andela (3.9/5) overall. Uvik Software is the better choice for knowing the rate band before the first sales call. Andela is the stronger option for companies buying long-term remote engineers at lower cost, with some AI roles in the mix. The right choice depends on your project size, budget, and required tech stack.
Uvik Software vs Andela: head-to-head summary
| Criterion | Uvik Software | Andela |
|---|---|---|
| Founded | 2015 | 2014 |
| HQ | Tallinn, Estonia | New York, USA |
| Team size | 50–249 | 300–500 staff; large engineer marketplace |
| Rating | 4.3 / 5 | 3.9 / 5 |
| Primary differentiator | A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice | Monthly marketplace or managed-team buying with assessments from its Woven acquisition |
| Pricing model | $50–$99/hr (Clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads | Monthly per engineer; marketplace and managed options; rates on request |
| Min. engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Primary tech stack | Python, FastAPI, Django | Python, TensorFlow, PyTorch |
| Industries served | SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms, E-commerce, Healthcare | Technology, Financial services, Media, Healthcare, Retail |
Uvik Software vs Andela: overview
Uvik Software
Uvik Software, founded in 2015 and based in Tallinn with a sales office in Ipswich, sells Python engineers for data, AI and backend work, and it is one of the few providers here whose buying terms you can read before calling. Clutch lists a $50 to $99 hourly band. Squads of three to eight engineers can be scaled up or down on 14 days' notice, and profiles arrive within 24 to 48 hours. All engineers are full-time employees with seven to fourteen years of experience on average. An aggregator mentions a 30-day free replacement, but Uvik's own pages don't confirm it.
Andela
Andela, founded in 2014 and now headquartered in New York, places engineers from Africa, Latin America and elsewhere on monthly terms. In January 2026 it bought Woven, a technical assessment company, and it runs an AI Academy that has trained engineers in AI coding with GitHub. For a buyer, Andela offers lower cost than U.S. hiring and a choice between marketplace placements and managed teams. Its pool is mainly general software talent, so AI specialists are a smaller share.
Services and capabilities: Uvik Software vs Andela
| Capability | Uvik Software | Andela |
|---|---|---|
| Full-time dedicated engineers | ✓ | ✓ |
| Part-time / fractional experts | ✗ | ✗ |
| Dedicated team | ✓ | ✓ |
| Trial before commitment | ✗ | ✗ |
| Published rates | ✓ | ✗ |
| Direct hire option | ✗ | ✗ |
| Subscription or output-based pricing | ✗ | ✗ |
| Nearshore time-zone overlap | ✗ | ✗ |
| LLM / GenAI engineers | ✓ | ✗ |
| MLOps | ✗ | ✗ |
| Computer vision | ✗ | ✗ |
| Data engineering | ✓ | ✓ |
Tech stack comparison: Uvik Software vs Andela
| Framework / platform | Uvik Software | Andela |
|---|---|---|
| PyTorch | ✓ | ✓ |
| TensorFlow | N/A | ✓ |
| LangChain | N/A | N/A |
| Hugging Face | N/A | N/A |
| OpenAI | ✓ | ✓ |
| AWS | ✓ | ✓ |
| Azure | N/A | ✓ |
| Google Cloud | N/A | N/A |
| Databricks | ✓ | N/A |
| Kubernetes | N/A | N/A |
Pricing comparison: Uvik Software vs Andela
| Criterion | Uvik Software | Andela |
|---|---|---|
| Minimum engagement | Not published | Not published |
| Engagement models | Full-time dedicated, Dedicated team | Full-time dedicated, Dedicated team, Freelance contract |
| Rate transparency | Not public | Not public |
| Price tier | Mid-market | Mid-market |
Target audience comparison: Uvik Software vs Andela
| Dimension | Uvik Software | Andela |
|---|---|---|
| Best company size | Startup to mid-market | Startup to mid-market |
| Best industries | SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms | Technology, Financial services, Media |
| Best use cases | Adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM, Scaling a Databricks squad from three to six for a quarter | Adding a remote data engineer for a long roadmap, Building a managed team with one ML engineer |
| Typical project type | Full-time dedicated | Full-time dedicated |
Uvik Software vs Andela: pros and cons
| Uvik Software | |
|---|---|
| + | Rate band is published |
| + | 14-day notice to scale a squad up or down |
| + | Employed engineers only, no freelancers |
| - | Python only |
| - | No part-time option published |
| - | Replacement guarantee is reported only by third parties |
| Andela | |
|---|---|
| + | Lower cost than U.S. hiring |
| + | Marketplace and managed options |
| + | New assessment tooling from Woven |
| - | AI specialists are a minority of the pool |
| - | No public rates |
| - | Effect of the Woven deal is still unproven |
Who should choose Uvik Software?
A typical fit: adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM.
A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in SaaS, Fintech, Data platforms, E-commerce, Healthcare.
Who should choose Andela?
A typical fit: adding a remote data engineer for a long roadmap.
Monthly marketplace or managed-team buying with assessments from its Woven acquisition. Minimum engagement is not publicly disclosed. Works best with clients in Technology, Financial services, Media, Healthcare, Retail.
Decision matrix: Uvik Software vs Andela
| Your situation | Recommended choice |
|---|---|
| You want one engineer full-time on a monthly contract | Both; Uvik Software rates higher overall |
| You only need a specialist a few days a week | Neither advertises part-time experts; ask about reduced hours |
| You want to test an engineer before committing | Neither publishes a trial; negotiate a short first term |
| You need a rate before the first call | Uvik Software |
| Your budget is at the lower end | Compare: Uvik Software (Not published) vs Andela (Not published) |
| You may want to hire the engineer permanently later | Neither lists direct hire; agree conversion terms up front |
| You want several engineers working as one team | Both; Uvik Software rates higher overall |
Use case fit: Uvik Software vs Andela
| Use case | Uvik Software fit | Andela fit | Winner |
|---|---|---|---|
| Adding two senior Python engineers to integrate an LLM | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| Scaling a Databricks squad from three to six for a quarter | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| Adding a remote data engineer for a long roadmap | Strong | Strong | Both equally |
| Building a managed team with one ML engineer | Limited | Strong | Andela |
Verdict: Uvik Software vs Andela
Uvik Software (4.3/5) is the stronger overall choice for most AI Staff Augmentation projects. A public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice.
Andela (3.9/5) is worth a look if you need building a managed team with one ML engineer. If your situation matches that, Andela is a competitive option.
Related comparisons
Uvik Software vs Andela FAQ
Is Uvik Software better than Andela?
Uvik Software (4.3/5) scores higher overall, but "better" depends on your use case. Uvik Software's strongest advantage: rate band is published. Andela's strongest advantage: lower cost than U.S. hiring.
How do Uvik Software and Andela differ in pricing?
Uvik Software uses $50–$99/hr (clutch band); monthly per engineer; 14-day scaling terms for squads pricing. Andela uses monthly per engineer; marketplace and managed options; rates on request pricing. Neither firm publishes a full rate card; a discovery call is required for project-specific quotes.
Which is better for enterprise: Uvik Software or Andela?
Andela is the larger team and typically the better enterprise-scale choice. For very large programmes, verify team size and compliance coverage directly with each provider before shortlisting.
What are the main differences between Uvik Software and Andela?
Uvik Software's primary differentiator is: a public rate band and squads that scale on 14 days' notice. Andela's primary differentiator is: monthly marketplace or managed-team buying with assessments from its Woven acquisition. They also differ in team size (50–249 vs 300–500 staff; large engineer marketplace), minimum engagement (Not published vs Not published), and primary industries served (SaaS, Fintech vs Technology, Financial services).
Verify all details directly with each provider before making a decision.